Skip to content

My Learning Project: Learning to Acrylic Paint!

Posted in EDTC 300, and Learning Project

I have always had an interest in all forms of art, but more specifically in drawing and painting. I used to draw portraits when I was in high school, but I lost the hobby once I got busy with university. Since then I have turned to easier routes for my art, such as paint by numbers and simple sketches on my iPad. Last winter I really struggled with my mental health and found comfort in relearning how to draw, but I have become more and more interested in learning how to paint my own pictures instead of just following a painting tutorial or filling in a paint by number I bought from Michael’s!

I plan to start small by learning different painting techniques and how to mix colours. I will most likely be relying on YouTube videos, TikToks, Instagram reels, etc. but would also like to find a few blogs that I can learn from as well. After I get the basics down pat I want to start painting some actual pictures, maybe by following a good ol’ Bob Ross video! I already have all of the supplies I need, because I asked for an acrylic paint set when I was 10. 

My hope is to one day be able to paint a picture like the paint by number Van Gogh painting I finished last winter!

7 Comments

  1. Kendra A

    This is amazing! I have always loved painting and drawing as well, and similar to you I lost my passion when I started university. I also have done paint by number during the lockdown in covid, but I had to quit once I started getting busy. Now the paint is all tacky and hard to use so I just keep it in a box for maybe one day I will finish it. I am very excited to follow along with your journey Raine! Good Luck!

    May 11, 2022
    |Reply
  2. Paige

    I really love that Van Gogh painting! I had the opportunity to see this painting in person when I was in France and it was an amazing experience. I am also using Tik Tok for my learning project, it is a great platform to learn different hobbies! I look forward to seeing your process and good luck!

    May 11, 2022
    |Reply
  3. Meagan

    Just like many, I also got into paint-by-numbers during the pandemic. I actually also completed a Van Gogh painting, I did the Starry Night! After completing a few paint-by-numbers I branched out and created some of my own creations on larger canvases. I love acrylic paint because it is super forgiving… if you make a mistake you can just wait for it to dry and paint over it! I think you will have a lot of fun with your learning project, Raine! I can’t wait to see your creations!

    May 11, 2022
    |Reply
    • Raine Gray

      I agree that acrylic paint is very forgiving, which makes it the perfect paint for beginners. Maybe one day I’ll branch out and try watercolour or oil!

      May 18, 2022
      |Reply
  4. madiha

    The paint by no picture by Van Gogh is beautiful. I am excited to follow along your learning journey and wanted to make a request to try Starry Nights by Van Gogh since its my favourite one

    May 15, 2022
    |Reply
    • Raine Gray

      I will definitely keep that request in mind and maybe attempt it closer to the end of my learning project!

      May 18, 2022
      |Reply
  5. Madison Macfie

    Hey Raine, I am very excited to see your progress with acrylic painting throughout this course! I think that painting is such a great activity to pick up regardless of experience with art, and seeing that drawing and sketching is something you are passionate about and enjoy, I’m sure you will be great! Can’t wait to see your first piece!

    May 20, 2022
    |Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar